Personal Assistant, Private Home

Description

Seeking a Part-Time Carer/Personal Assistant for a theatremaker / artist / creative (female, 35 yrs old) who is severely ill with ME/CFS. Duties include: preparing and serving food, short outings to local park, room tidying, laundry, admin support (emails/phone calls), and companionship. Food prep is an important part of the support for Pippa so some ease and skill in this area is needed. 

The main symptom of ME is fatigue, both mental and physical, which feels different from normal tiredness. More like you just ran a marathon and then were hit by a lorry. Amongst a host of symptoms there is musculoskeletal pain, brain inflammation, cognitive dysfunction and brain fog, headaches/migraines, poor sleep, sensitivity to light and sound, and weakness. It’s a fluctuating condition with different abilities and states on different days. 

Ideally the candidate would be: familiar with ME / CFS and / or had experience in other care/personal assistant situations or similar and able to respond to the fluctuating nature of this illness (eg. to be very quiet or work in a darkened room on difficult days), over 30 years old preferably. 

A bonus would be someone interested in the theatre / arts / literature as well as self-development / meditation / complementary health.

The location is 10 minutes from the Brixton tube, hours may vary slightly from week to week but will be in shifts of 1.5-4 hours two-three days / week. Pay is £12 / hour. Start date is within the coming weeks. 

If interested please send an email with a personal statement (short intro to you, your interests and why you would like the job. Most of all we’d like to get an idea of who you are), relevant experience and references.

Please note I won’t be able to personally reply to responses to this post or DM’s. If you’re interested please email: pippaandm.e@yahoo.com 

More arts jobs!